Menu
Book Club

Eden Travel Book Club: May Picks

It’s travel book club time! I loved going into both books blind last month and discussing them with y’all (the consensus of last month’s discussion: $16 for a cup of coffee is ridiculous). So this month, I’m picking (yet again) two books that I haven’t read before. And in honor of Asian Heritage Month, they’re both set in Asia!

I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. xx – Anshula

P.S. The best way to keep up with this book club is by following Passport To Eden on Bloglovin’ or Instagram.

Disclosure: Heads up, this post contains affiliate links! I just want you to know that Passport To Eden may earn a commission if you make a purchase (at no extra cost to you). The decision of whether or not you want to buy something through this website is absolutely up to you! 😉 You can read our full affiliate disclosure here.

Eden Travel Book Club Rules

  • Each month, I pick out two travel books, one adult and one young adult. (you have the choice to read either one or both).
  • You can absolutely DNF a book and still come to the discussion portion. I want to hear your thoughts regardless of whether you choose to finish the title or not (so don’t feel pressured to finish it if you aren’t enjoying it).
  • Each month, there will be one announcement post (like this one) and two separate discussion posts (our May book club discussion will run from the 29th to the 31st).
  • The discussion posts will have a series of ten questions as starting points. But honestly, you can talk about whatever you want regarding the books! You don’t have to answer all (or any) of the questions. They’re just meant to get our gears turning and our debate heels on!

April Picks


Adult Book: Autumn Light By Pico Iyer

Pico Iyer is known for his travel quotes. You’ve probably heard some of them before.

  • “We travel, initially, to lose ourselves; and we travel, next to find ourselves.”
  • “Most of us travel not in search of answers, but of better questions.”
  • “Travel is not really about leaving our homes but leaving our habits.”

Autumn Light isn’t really about travel, but it also is. The pages follow Iyer’s pause on travel. They’re filled with poignant vignettes and deep reflections. There isn’t a beginning, middle, or end. Instead, it’s a slow-churning book (set in Japan) that surfaces joy in little moments. And ultimately, Autumn Light is about finding gratitude within the seemingly mundane.

Young Adult Book: The Astonishing Color Of After by Emily X.R. Pan

I devoured the first third of The Astonishing Color Of After within a day. But I really wanted to hold off on finishing it so I could read right alongside y’all. Emily X.R. Pan has a way with words.

The writing is just as beautiful as the story. I don’t want to give away too much, but know this: it’s a magical realism novel set (for the most part) in Taiwan. And it’s amazingly crafted (perfect for fans of Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere) but also gutterly heart-wrenching.

Purpose Of Eden Travel Book Club


  • To interact with our community of readers. It’s really encouraging to know someone is reading a book right along with you and that you have someone to share that experience with later on!
  • To introduce something new. I hope over the course of the next twelve months, I’m able to introduce you to a book that’s outside of your reading zone (bonus points for me if you fall in love with it). A huge reason I took part in YouTube-hosted readathons last year was to push myself outside of my little fantasy bubble. And I want to bring that same idea to our travel book club!
  • To have meaningful literary debates. If you love chatting about books as much as I do, this is a safe and welcoming environment to share your thoughts! Whether you like a book or hate a book, we encourage you to share your opinions (though please note, no trolling of authors or other book club members is allowed).
sincerely anshula

Are you excited for our May travel book club? Let me know in the comments below what you plan on reading! I’m excited to hear from you.

4 Comments

  • Avatar
    Maya
    May 8, 2020 at 10:52 AM

    I normally know which book to pick immediately but I’m struggling to choose. Will read The Astonishing Color Of After.

    Reply
    • Avatar
      Anshula Varma
      May 9, 2020 at 3:33 PM

      Hi Maya. I’m so excited to read this with you! xx – Anshula

      Reply
  • Avatar
    Tara
    May 9, 2020 at 9:57 AM

    I just stumbled upon your book club and I love your style and purpose and everything!! Definitely want to read both of these, but The Astonishing Color of After in particular.

    Reply
    • Avatar
      Anshula Varma
      May 9, 2020 at 3:36 PM

      Hi Tara. Thank you so much! Welcome to the Eden Book Club! I look forward to reading the title and discussing it with you! xx – Anshula

      Reply

Leave a Reply